In wanting to give, I merely receive.

It’s crazy.

I started coaching an underprivileged boy, thinking I’d be contributing my skills, but I now realise I probably need the sessions more than he does. The joy he gets from understanding and the hunger to learn is exactly what keeps me in my job, but also very rare a reward.

And as I crossed paths with a man in his wheelchair making his way slowly in the rain, I offered him my umbrella, thinking it’d keep him going. But as he lifted his head, smiled and reassured me he didn’t need it, I was the one who was warmed by that genuine smile.

I’ve been so arrogant to think I’m in a position to give, but in fact, I’ve been receiving so much.

It’s crazy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

